Tags

, , , , , ,

You may already know about this exceedingly good little gastro-pub; Gordon Ramsey declared it a winner in his 2010 Best British Restaurant Awards and it holds more commendations, awards, listings and gushing reviews than you can swallow in one gulp.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am therefore exceedingly proud to have called The Milestone my local from it’s opening until I moved away in late 2008. We lived at Cornish Place, one of the original riverside conversions that turned the majestic metal works into luxurious apartments (including the coach house that we called home). In fact, I celebrated my final birthday before leaving the UK in the upstairs dining room with an intimate dinner for friends and family. I dread to think how much notice I’d need to give them now to get a table let alone the whole restaurant…

And so we are back house hunting in Kelham Island after our three year ‘holiday’, and I couldn’t resist popping in for some lunch last week. Aside from the growing collection of award stickers in the window, The Milestone didn’t look to have changed on the surface & I was reassured to find the same level of polite service combined with a higher level of gastronomy.

My lunch of open steak sandwich and chunky chips was presented, thoughtfully, with a large bottle of tap water in addition to the fruit beer I had ordered. The portion was so generous that even I (& those of you who know me, know I eat like a horse) couldn’t come close to finishing it all. Easily the best steak sandwich I’ve had in recent memory – and I do love bloody steak.

As expected with an establishment of this calibre, there are various scrumptious sounding special events coming up, from Game Week early next month to a Bordeaux Tasting Dinner on the 27th October (NB friends & family, this is VERY close to my birthday, hint hint). You can also indulge in brunch every weekend in addition to the seasonal lunch and dinner menus.

The extensive wine list is separated into simple sections with quirky names like ‘The Socialites (you can keep drinking them forever..)’ and ‘Wolves in Sheeps’ Clothing (the surprises…)’. I particularly liked the sound of the Twisted Classic cocktails; ‘Espresso Martini’, yum!

And for those with any culinary talent, you might like to pick up their cookbook and have a go yourself. After all, if the Michelin Guide thinks The Milestone is worth a mention…

